Uluru Tours From Sydney: Flights, Packages and Day Tours
Uluru tours from Sydney do not exist in the way the search suggests: no tour bus or guide group departs Sydney, and every tour on the rock itself starts at Yulara (Ayers Rock Resort) or in Alice Springs. The trip is therefore two purchases, a flight and the tours. Emu Run puts the direct flight to Ayers Rock Airport (AYQ) at about 3 h 20 min, and once you land the range runs from a sunrise base walk to a 3-day camping safari. This page covers the flight, the 2,800 km drive, the packages that bundle flights with hotels, and the Uluru tours worth booking at the other end.
Quick answer The short answer
There are no Uluru tours from Sydney in the literal sense: you fly Sydney to Ayers Rock Airport in about 3 h 20 min (Emu Run), then join a tour that starts at Yulara. The Guardian put a Jetstar Sydney return at about A$350 off-peak in 2022, the park pass is A$38 (about $26.69), and tours here range from $96.70 for the Field of Light sunrise to $712.69 for a 3-day safari.
Key takeaways
- Compare the bookable tours at Yulara on the Uluru tours homepage.
- See the full budget line by line on how much a Uluru trip costs.
- The guided sunrise base walk is a 5.5 hour outing around the base with a light breakfast.
Sydney to Uluru: How to Get There
The rock sits in the Northern Territory desert, about 2,800 km from Sydney by road. Four ways to cover that distance, only one of them sensible for a short trip.
Fly, Then Join a Tour at Yulara
The plain fact first: no Uluru tour leaves Sydney. Every tour starts at Yulara (Ayers Rock Resort) or Alice Springs, so the trip is a flight plus tours. Emu Run puts the direct flight from Sydney to Ayers Rock Airport at about 3 h 20 min, with typical one-way fares of A$140-850 depending on season and demand.
AAT Kings confirms direct flights to Ayers Rock Airport from Sydney, Melbourne and Cairns, with Alice Springs 435 km away as the alternative base. Which days the Sydney route runs can change with the season, so check at booking. The tours listed here pick up in the Yulara area, so no car is needed once you land.
| Option | Time | Typical cost | Who it suits |
|---|---|---|---|
| Fly Sydney to Ayers Rock Airport (AYQ), direct | About 3 h 20 min (Emu Run) | A$140-850 one way (Emu Run), Jetstar return about A$350 off-peak in 2022 (The Guardian) | Almost everyone on a trip of a week or less |
| Fly Sydney to Alice Springs, then 435 km by road or coach | 3 h flight (Emu Run) plus 4 h 54 min driving, or a coach from A$195 per person (AAT Kings) | A$270-650 one way (Emu Run) plus the coach or a hire car | Travellers combining Uluru with the Red Centre |
| Drive | 2,838 km, 29 h of driving, 3-4 days (Emu Run) | A$350-530 fuel each way (Emu Run) | Road trippers with a month to spare |
| Train and bus | 3 or more days one way, in legs (Emu Run) | A$379-810 for the four legs combined (sum of Emu Run's leg prices) | Rail enthusiasts only |
Source: Emu Run, AAT Kings, The Guardian.
Flights From Sydney, Melbourne and Brisbane
AAT Kings lists direct flights to Ayers Rock Airport from Sydney, Melbourne and Cairns. Brisbane is the one to check. Flight times below come from the aggregator Kayak.
Flight Times and Fares by Origin City
Kayak lists Sydney at about 3 h 20 min to 3 h 35 min to Ayers Rock Airport, Melbourne at about 3 h, and Cairns at about 2 h 50 min outbound. Brisbane is listed at about 3 h 55 min but is not shown as direct on Kayak, while the aggregator Flightconnections reports a Virgin nonstop that may not run year-round, so check at booking. On fares, The Guardian's 2022 cost guide puts Jetstar returns from Sydney at about A$350 off-peak and from Melbourne at about A$270 off-peak, and says Jetstar returns can pass A$800 in the August-September peak.
| Origin | Flight time | Direct? | Off-peak return |
|---|---|---|---|
| Sydney | 3 h 20 min to 3 h 35 min (Kayak) | Yes (AAT Kings) | About A$350 (The Guardian, 2022) |
| Melbourne | About 3 h (Kayak) | Yes (AAT Kings) | About A$270 (The Guardian, 2022) |
| Brisbane | About 3 h 55 min (Kayak) | Not shown as direct on Kayak, check at booking | Not stated |
| Cairns | About 2 h 50 min (Kayak) | Yes (AAT Kings) | Not stated |
Source: Kayak, The Guardian, AAT Kings.
Driving, Train and Bus From Sydney
Emu Run and Ayers Rock Resort both map the overland route. It is a real expedition, not a weekend drive.
The Drive: 2,838 Km and Three to Four Days
Emu Run measures the drive from Sydney to Uluru at 2,838 km and 29 hours behind the wheel, which means 3 to 4 days of driving each way. A separate route calculation gives 2,808 km and about 33 h, so plan on the longer time. Emu Run says the road is sealed the whole way, so no 4WD is needed, and puts fuel at A$350-530 each way.
Ayers Rock Resort's suggested stops are the Blue Mountains, Bathurst, Dubbo, Cobar, Broken Hill, Port Augusta, Coober Pedy and Kulgera Roadhouse. By train and bus it is a relay: Emu Run lists Sydney to Melbourne by train at 11 h and A$75-250, Melbourne to Adelaide at 10 h and A$79-150, a 19 h bus from Adelaide to Erldunda at A$180-350, and A$45-60 from Erldunda to Yulara. That is 3 or more days one way.
The flight is about 3 h 20 min for comparison, and the park pass is A$38 (about $26.69) either way.
| Leg | Time | Cost (Emu Run) |
|---|---|---|
| Sydney to Melbourne, train | 11 h | A$75-250 |
| Melbourne to Adelaide, train | 10 h | A$79-150 |
| Adelaide to Erldunda, bus | 19 h | A$180-350 |
| Erldunda to Yulara, bus | Not stated | A$45-60 |
Source: Emu Run, Ayers Rock Resort.
Uluru Packages From Sydney
Sellers bundle the Sydney leg in different ways. The package prices below are quoted by the sellers named.
What a Package Contains
Aspire Down Under sells an Uluru add-on package from A$1,299 per person that includes return flights from Sydney or Melbourne, 2 nights at the Desert Gardens Hotel, the Field of Light Star Pass, a small-group Uluru sunrise tour and resort transfers. Kensington Tours builds custom itineraries from Sydney where the park fee is included but the Sydney to Uluru flight of about 3.5 h is bought separately, with a shared airport transfer averaging about a 20 min wait. The alternative is to build it yourself: book the flight, a resort room and the on-the-ground tours separately.
The tours in this catalogue cover the ground only, so the comparison is a package versus a flight plus Uluru tours booked directly.
| Route | Included | Price |
|---|---|---|
| Aspire Down Under add-on | Return flights from Sydney or Melbourne, 2 nights Desert Gardens, Field of Light Star Pass, sunrise tour, transfers | From A$1,299 per person |
| Kensington custom itinerary | Park fee, shared airport transfer, hotels, guiding, flight bought separately | Custom quote, not stated |
| Do it yourself | Flight from about A$350 return off-peak (The Guardian, 2022), hotel, tours from $96.70, park pass A$38 (about $26.69) extra on several tours | Sums depend on your picks |
Sources: Aspire Down Under, Kensington Tours, The Guardian.
Uluru Tours You Can Book After You Land
Every tour below is booked for the Yulara area. Prices are per person in US dollars as listed.
The Tour Table
These are the bookable tours this site compares. The 3-day Uluru, Kata Tjuta and Kings Canyon camping safari is the outlier: it includes park entry, camping and all meals, and it finishes with a drop-off in Alice Springs, which suits a Sydney traveller flying home from a different city. For a short stay, the guided sunrise base walk covers the base in a guided 5.5 h outing of about 10.5 km, while the Uluru sunrise and Kata Tjuta coach day covers both the rock and the domes in 5 hours.
The Field of Light sunrise tour is the cheapest entry point at $96.70, and the 20-minute scenic flight shows the scale of the rock from the air. Several listings exclude the park pass, so budget the A$38 (about $26.69) on top unless the listing says it is included.
| Tour | Price | Length | Park pass | Start point |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 3-day Uluru, Kata Tjuta and Kings Canyon camping safari | $712.69 | 3 days, 2 nights | Included | Ayers Rock Airport pick-up, ends Alice Springs |
| Uluru: guided base walk at sunrise | $147 | 5.5 hours | Not included, buy in advance | Pickup included, check the listing |
| Uluru sunrise and Kata Tjuta by coach | $147 | 5 hours | Not included, buy in advance | Pickup in Yulara |
| Uluru: sunrise Segway ride around the full base | $182 | 5 hours | Contradictory in the listing, confirm at checkout | Hotel pickup at Yulara properties |
| Uluru: Field of Light sunrise tour | $96.70 | 2 hours | Not mentioned by the listing | Hotel pickup in Yulara |
| Uluru: 20-minute scenic plane flight | $128.93 | 1.5 hours | Not mentioned by the listing | Hotel pickup in Yulara |
Source: Uluru tours.
Tours to Book Once You Land at Yulara
Three ways to spend the first days after the flight: the full base on foot at sunrise, the Field of Light before dawn, and the 3-day safari that ends in Alice Springs. Prices are per person from each listing.
Uluru: guided base walk at sunrise with light breakfast
The full base, about 10.5 km on foot, for $147: the lowest price for the whole circuit
The full 10.5 km base walk via the Mala Walk, Kantju Gorge and the Lungkata Walk, started one hour before sunrise with a light breakfast and a driver-guide. It suits fit walkers who want the whole circuit at the lowest fare, with the park pass bought separately.
- Cancellation
- Free cancellation 24h
- Operator
- AAT Kings
from $96.70
Bruce Munro installation
Uluru: Field of Light sunrise tour
Bruce Munro's Field of Light, more than 50,000 glowing stems in the desert in sight of Uluru, visited at sunrise by coach from Yulara in about two hours. It suits visitors who want an art installation rather than a walk, and pickup starts 1 hour 45 minutes before sunrise.
Pickup is 1 hour 45 minutes before sunrise and the voucher time can be wrong: reconfirm with AAT Kings 24-48 hours ahead.
- More than 50,000 lit stems
- Hot drink at the sunrise viewing area
- Hotel pickup in an air-conditioned coach
from $712.69
3 days, park fees included
Uluru, Kata Tjuta and Kings Canyon: 3-day camping safari
Two nights in a permanent tent while the guide takes the group to Uluru at sunrise and sunset, Kata Tjuta and Kings Canyon, with meals and park fees included. It starts at Ayers Rock Airport and finishes in Alice Springs, so it suits travellers moving on to Alice.
Starts at Ayers Rock Airport but ends in Alice Springs. Cancellation is tiered: 50% refund between 2 and 6 days out.
- Uluru, Kata Tjuta and Kings Canyon
- 2 nights in a permanent tent, all meals
- National park fees included
How Many Days From Sydney
Check your arrival time before you plan a sunrise. Two nights is a sprint, three is the working plan.
Two, Three or Four Nights
The Londoner in Sydney calls three days at Uluru pushing it for time, and its tour list runs past 100 options. Aspire's package is 2 nights and Kensington's is 2 nights, so two nights is the packaged minimum. A plan that fits a first visit: night one for sunset, day two for the base walk before the heat builds, then Kata Tjuta.
The two rocks are 56 km apart by road, about 50 minutes of driving, which is why a coach day covering both makes sense. The base walk is 10.6 km and takes about 3.5 h, and the park advises finishing before 11 am in hot weather. At Kata Tjuta, the Valley of the Winds closes at the Karu lookout from 11 am at 36 degrees Celsius and above.
Add Kings Canyon only with the 3-day safari, which folds it in and ends in Alice Springs.
| Stay | What fits | Limit |
|---|---|---|
| 2 nights | One sunset, a sunrise base walk or coach day, one dinner | No Kata Tjuta walk if flights are tight |
| 3 nights | Sunset, sunrise base walk, Kata Tjuta, Field of Light or scenic flight | A full plan, nothing spare |
| 4 nights | The three-night plan with a spare morning | Kings Canyon needs the safari |
| 3-day safari | Uluru, Kata Tjuta and Kings Canyon on one fare | Ends with an Alice Springs drop-off |
Sources: The Londoner in Sydney, Uluru-Kata Tjuta National Park, Uluru-Kata Tjuta National Park.
What a Trip From Sydney Costs
Line items for one adult on a 3-night trip, from the figures above. Australian prices are converted at the ECB reference rate.
A 3-Night Budget, Line by Line
The big variable is the airfare: The Guardian's 2022 cost guide puts a Jetstar return from Sydney at about A$350 off-peak and over A$800 in the peak. On the ground, the park pass is A$38 (about $26.69) for 3 days, and children enter free. A sensible tour pairing is the sunrise base walk at $147 plus the Field of Light sunrise tour at $96.70.
For a splurge dinner, Sounds of Silence starts at A$295 (about $207.22) per adult and the Field of Light dinner from A$360 (about $252.88). Resort rooms run from a hostel-style lodge and a campground to luxury hotels, and the resort's own pages print no room rates. The full breakdown lives on the Uluru trip cost page.
| Line item | Figure | In USD |
|---|---|---|
| Return flight, Sydney, off-peak (The Guardian, 2022) | About A$350 | About $245.86 |
| Park pass, adult, 3 days | A$38 | About $26.69 |
| Guided sunrise base walk | $147 | $147 |
| Field of Light sunrise tour | $96.70 | $96.70 |
| Sounds of Silence dinner, adult, from | A$295 | About $207.22 |
Sources: Uluru-Kata Tjuta National Park, The Guardian, Ayers Rock Resort, ECB.
Sydney Stops Before You Fly
If Sydney is the bookend of a longer trip, two stops earn their place before or after the Red Centre.
Harbour and Blue Mountains
A harbour cruise is the easy half-day, and Emu Run puts the Blue Mountains 62 km west of the city, about an hour by road to Katoomba, where the Three Sisters and Wentworth Falls anchor a day walk. Kensington's Sydney to Uluru itinerary builds a Blue Mountains day in before the flight, and the resort's road-trip page starts its route there too. Plan both around your flight time rather than packing them into Uluru days, which fill up by mid-morning because of the heat rules on the walks.
Sources: Emu Run, Ayers Rock Resort.
Where to Stay at Yulara
Everything runs out of one resort village, so the accommodation choice is about budget and view, not location.
The Resort Range
Ayers Rock Resort lists seven properties, from Sails in the Desert at the luxury end through the 4.5-star Desert Gardens Hotel, Emu Walk Apartments, the budget Outback Hotel, The Lost Camel Hotel, the shared Outback Lodge and Ayers Rock Campground. Aspire Down Under says Desert Gardens has the only rooms with a view of Uluru, and it is the hotel in Aspire's A$1,299 package. The resort's own site publishes no room prices, and The Guardian's 2022 guide noted a two-night minimum on hotels.
The 3-day safari ends in Alice Springs, so if you take it, price a Sydney in, Alice Springs out airfare. The full rundown of each property is on the homepage where to stay section.
Sources: Ayers Rock Resort, Aspire Down Under.
Questions About Uluru From Sydney
What is the best way to get to Uluru from Sydney?
Fly direct to Ayers Rock Airport, about 3 h 20 min per Emu Run, then join a tour from Yulara. Emu Run quotes one-way fares of A$140-850 and The Guardian put a Jetstar return at about A$350 off-peak in 2022. Driving is 2,838 km and 3 to 4 days each way, so it only suits a long trip. See the tours to book after you land.
How much does it cost to go to Uluru from Sydney?
For one adult on 3 nights: a return flight from about A$350 off-peak (The Guardian, 2022), the park pass at A$38 (about $26.69), and tours from $96.70 to $712.69. Aspire Down Under sells a flight, 2 hotel nights and tours package from A$1,299 per person. The full budget is on the Uluru trip cost page.
What tours of Uluru are available from Sydney?
None start in Sydney. Every tour departs from Yulara or Alice Springs, so you fly first and book the tours separately, from a sunrise base walk to the 3-day Kings Canyon camping safari. Packages that bundle the flight exist, such as Aspire Down Under's add-on from A$1,299 per person.
How long is the flight from Sydney to Ayers Rock Airport?
About 3 h 20 min direct per Emu Run, with Kayak listing Sydney services at 3 h 20 min to 3 h 35 min. Melbourne is about 3 h and Cairns about 2 h 50 min. Brisbane is listed at about 3 h 55 min but is not shown as direct on Kayak, so check at booking. Compare options on the Uluru tours homepage.
Can you do Uluru from Sydney by train?
Only as a multi-day relay. Emu Run lists Sydney to Melbourne by train at 11 h and A$75-250, Melbourne to Adelaide at 10 h and A$79-150, then a 19 h bus to Erldunda at A$180-350 and A$45-60 on to Yulara. That is 3 or more days one way, covered in the driving, train and bus section.
Is a 3-day trip from Sydney enough for Uluru?
It works with a tight plan. Day one is sunset, day two the sunrise base walk, and day three Kata Tjuta, which is 56 km from Uluru by road. The Londoner in Sydney calls three days at Uluru pushing it for time, so add Kings Canyon only with the 3-day camping safari, which ends in Alice Springs.
Can I fly into Uluru and home from Alice Springs?
The 3-day camping safari starts at Ayers Rock Airport and ends in Alice Springs, so a Sydney traveller can fly into Uluru and home from Alice Springs. Emu Run lists a direct Sydney to Alice Springs flight of about 3 h at A$270-650 one way. Check fares for both airports. See the 3-day safari.